Nothing Can Save Us That is Possible

I am reading W.H. Auden’s Collected Longer Poems while on vacation. Throught the oncoming heaviness of sleep last night, as I lay reading, seeking the soothing medicinal dust of my summer reading pile, I came across this, which did indeed soothe my mind, but awakened me to excitement, as if Advent were here. And I do offer that which I have received to all of you:

We who must die demand a miracle. 

How could the Eternal do a temporal act,

The Infinite become a finite fact?

Nothing can save us that is possible;

We who must die demand a miracle.

(W.H. Auden, Collected Longer Poems, page 138)

 

Please visit The Call with Mike Milton for more entries and resources for ministry.

 

 

About Michael Milton, Ph.D.

Michael A. Milton, Ph.D. (University of Wales, Trinity Saint David's College), is an American Presbyterian pastor, theologian, and author. He is, also, an alumnus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
This entry was posted in advent, Advent Quotations, Auden, books, Christian, Dr. Michael A. Milton, Dr. Mike Milton, Infinite, Jesus Christ, Michael Milton, Mike Milton, poetry, Preaching, Presbyterian, quotes, reflections, Reformed, Spirituality, W.H. Auden and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.