Happy Twenty Fifth Anniversary to my Wife, a Gift From God Himself

I am blessed with 25 years of marriage to my sweetheart. Thank you Lord.

“He who finds  a wife finds  a good thing and  obtains favor  from the LORD” (Proverbs 18.22).

She is the most blessed wife; friend, confidant; counselor; mother; and joy of my heart. I have never known a wiser woman, a kinder woman, a more deeply spiritual, keenly sensitive person than my wife. I have never seen eyes so caring, or a voice so soothing, or arms so warmly caring. I have never known laughter so pure, or a cry so true. In joys and in sorrows, in sickness and in health, she has been faithful. She is not only my wife but my hero. I idolize her. I prize her. I lift her up to my son and say, “Marry a woman like your mother, Son, and you will do well. She is the model of the woman who you want to plead to God to be given.” She is a good wife, and has brought favor from the Lord.

Today, on our Twenty Fifth Anniversary, I honor her. I rise to call her blessed.

How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.

by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

How do I love thee?  Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the ends of Being and ideal Grace.

I love thee to the level of everyday’s

Most quiet need, by sun and candlelight.

I love thee freely, as men strive for Right;

I love thee purely, as they turn from Praise.

I love thee with the passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose

With my lost saints,—I love thee with the breath,

Smiles, tears, of all my life!—and, if God choose,

I shall but love thee better after death.

About Michael Milton, Ph.D.

Michael A. Milton, Ph.D. (University of Wales, Trinity Saint David's College), is an American Presbyterian pastor, theologian, and author. He is, also, an alumnus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
This entry was posted in Dr. Michael A. Milton, Dr. Mike Milton, Michael Milton, Mike Milton and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.