Me and My Shadow

My Cardigan Welsh Corgi, Fred, when he was a p...

Image via Wikipedia

Do you remember that catchy, ridiculous and wonderful little song by Harry Nielson called “Me and My Arrow?” if you do you are likely paying too much attention to the social security debates in Washington (but that, as they say, is another story). I like Nielson’s song and am thinking about that and the gift of God‘s creation this lovely Saturday morning as Shadow, our 15 year old Cardigan Welsh Corgi and I go for our weekly visit. Where do we go? While ardent Starbucks fan, I herby admit that I take a morning off on Saturdays to have a medium Duncan Donuts brew. More importantly, for Shadow, she gets the greatest treat in her week: a munchkin, you know, DD’s name for a plain, old donut hole! Ok. It is not the best for her, but Shadow is of “riper years” and I doubt one every week or so will do anything but make her happy.

When the Lord gave Adam animals and gave him the joy of naming them, it had to be fun. They do provide such joy don’t they? But Saturday came and man was still lonely. And you know who came next! Well, it is Saturday. I am writing in the parking lot of Lowe’s, where I am to get some pine bark mulch. Mrs. Milton is waiting for me to come home. So, me and my Shadow need to stop reflecting on the next best thing in creation, and get home to the tip top!

But I am still singing to myself, old Gal: “Me and My Shadow, straight up and narrow…wherever we go, everyone knows it’s me and my Shadow…”

About Michael Milton, Ph.D.

Michael A. Milton, Ph.D. (University of Wales, Trinity Saint David's College), is an American Presbyterian pastor, theologian, and author. He is, also, an alumnus of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
This entry was posted in Animal stories, creation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.